The Radiofrequency Spectrum is a scarce natural resource and it is essential that is used in the most effective and efficient way by all radiocommunication users in order to minimise harmful inteference.

The radiofrequency spectrum is divided into several broad frequency bands:

VLF – Very Low Frequency – 3-30 kHz
LF – Low Frequency – 30-300 kHz
MF – Medium Frequency – 300-3000 kHz
HF – High Frequency – 3-30 MHz
VHF – Very High Frequency – 30-300 MHz
UHF – Ultra High Frequency – 300-3000 MHz
SHF – Super High Frequency – 3-30 GHz
EHF – Extremely High Frequency – 30-300 GHz
THF – Tremendously High Frequency – 300GHz-3000GHz

Each of these bands is divided into sub-bands which are allocated to radio communication services such as Land Mobile Radio, broadcasting, aeronautical, maritime or space services by World Radiocommunication Conferences (WRC). WRC are held under the aegis of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) every three to four years.

The Mauritius Frequency Allocation Table (MFAT) details the uses to which the above frequency bands are put in Mauritius. It also shows the latest internationally agreed spectrum allocations of the ITU.